***Back to Life…Back to Reality***

Don’t even think about reading the title to this post without singing it.

Summer has come and gone.  Labor day has come and gone.  A new school year has come and…  ewe.  I don’t get to finish that sentence.  Back to the ol’ grind, as they say.

Working at a high school has it’s perks though: early release from the work day, lots of vacation, funny/ridiculous/unbelievable kids and of course, summer break.  Which I’m still mourning.

Yesterday was the first day back to the vonderful new school year and my ma picked me up at the end of the day.  And why wouldn’t she, your asking yourself?  Well, I’m only 29 years old, so….it makes sense.  My darling loverboy has the car fer werk, so I enlisted Barb to chauffeur me around town and bring me after school snacks.  I must say, she does a fine job.  I will be writing a heck of a recommendation letter for her.  She just got a new Tron Light Cycle, so when we pull away from the school, all the haters beeeee hatin!!

So, as I tend to do at the last minute, I suggest we stop at Target on the way home so I can pick up a few school supplies.  Why would she need school supplies, your asking yourself again?  Well, I am only 29 years old, so…it makes sense.  Notebook, pens, clipboard (what?) check.  I shoulda got a whistle too.

Arriving at home was the probably the best feeling I had all day.  My feet were pretty sore from the new shoes I was wearing (not my sky high wabblers), I was hungry and had a head ache, and my poor Daisy was wondering where I was all day so we could read our favorite magazine together.  “How come mom woke up abnormally early and did her workout while it was still dark?”

Yes, my friends, I pulled it off.  Two days in a row I might add!  It’s brutal, but necessary.  When I get home from work, all I wanna do is not work out.  or do the dishes.  Sorry babe.  It was fer sure hard to be gone all day being used to my previous schedule.  I am very lucky though, that I get to be home around 3 and still have a few hours before the rest of the world drags their feet from under their desks and runs down the street to catch their buses.  I just already miss my routine of waking up, gettin Daisy pooped and peed and fed, workin out, watchin Live with Kelly, eatin breakfast (at a leisurely pace) and then doin whatever else might present itself during the day.  I know.  I’m so spoiled, right.  If only the world were free…

There just aren’t enough hours in the day.  Especially when you are at work from 7:30 t0 3…or later.  What is there even time for after that?  Dinner, a shower and possibly bedtime stories, if you’ve been good?  C’mon sun.  Can’t you stay out longer?  I’ve been slacking on dinners already, cleaning and keeping up with the dishes.  I’ve never been one to utilize my time very well in the evening.  Once dinner time hits, you can pretty much count on me to do a whole lot of nothing.  It’s a hard knock life.

Some of you may be thinking that I’m lazy or spoiled because i don’t wanna spend my day at work or do anything productive after dinner or complain when adult summer break is over….  Yeah.  It’s prolly true.  What’s a girl gotta do around here to have everything handed to her, huh??  Seriously.  I mean, I can be pretty convincing.  I kid.  I kid.  Baaaaaaack to liiiiiiiife!  Baaaaaaaack to Reaaaaaaality!!

 

Goodbye summer.

 

5 thoughts on “***Back to Life…Back to Reality***

  1. oh man. i feel you!! well. i work at home now. but i’ve been working way harder than i ever did at my job!! lol. good luck!! poor kevin doesn’t get home till like 6:30 or after!! and he leaves between 6&7! isn’t that rough! poor guy!!!!

Leave a Reply

